skip navigation

Student Spotlight: Dana Culpepper

Student Spotlight: Dana Culpepper

Major: English

Sport: Tennis

Year: Junior

What is your full name?
Dana Olson Culpepper
Where did you grow up?
San Luis Obispo, CA
What is one of your favorite places to go/favorite things to do in your hometown?
Go to the beach at Avila or Montana de Oro State Park
How long have you been competing in your sport?
Since freshman year of high school
Who/What got you into your sport?
I first got interested in tennis through my middle school PE class.
What is your favorite thing about your sport?
That feeling right after making a killer shot that wins the point! Or how tennis allows me to grow both as an individual and team player.
On a free Saturday with no homework or plans, what would your ideal day look like?
Going to downtown Oakland or SF with friends, visiting a museum or attending a concert, and then watching the sunset over the water.
What's something in the Bay Area that you really want to visit or see?
I've always wanted to go ice skating in Union Square in SF during the holiday season!
What is your favorite thing about Mills?
I love the community here - there's so many different places and people whom I feel welcome with.
What is your favorite color?
A tie between turquoise and lavender.
What is your favorite food/drink?
Pasta or good veggie tacos.
What song do you have on repeat right now?
I'm still not over "Nobody" by Mitski.
Is there anything that you are doing outside of athletics that you are super passionate about?
I'm a copy editor for the student newspaper, and I love how hard all of the staff works and the important questions they raise. 
What is something you want to do before you graduate?
Travel internationally to as many countries as I can.
What is your favorite class this semester and why?
I'm really loving Kim Magowan's class on flash fiction, or super short stories; it's a super unique and fun genre and she's one of my favorite professors (this is my fourth class with her)!
Major (and Minor if it applies)
English major and in the 4+1 plan for a masters in Education